Campaigning for a Sovereign & Pagan Mercia in the Midlands
Sovereign Mercia is part of the Frisian Alliance




The Mercian priestesshood shall be part of the Oera Linda tradition, and shall comprise 644 priestesses (fâmna), 22 High Priestesses (burchfâmna), and one Folk Mother (folksmoder) – plus an estimated 3,500 elder priestesses (aldfâmna) forming the Mercian judiciary. Every year, four women aged 18 shall be selected from each shire, through competitive examination. Renouncing sex, intoxicants, animal products and all worldly goods, they shall devote themselves to raising the telluric energy of the earth and bringing peace and prosperity to the land and its people. At the age of 25, after serving for seven years, they shall become elder priestesses.
The Mercian head of state shall be the Folk Mother, whose official residence shall be at Moseley Bog, Birmingham – for which city she shall also act as High Priestess. She shall appoint, and may dismiss, High Priestesses for the other 22 shires. She shall serve until choosing to step down, and her successor shall be elected by the other High Priestesses from among themselves. She shall be declared the legal heir to the ancient Kings of Mercia, with duties and powers similar to those of a constitutional monarch. She may veto any decisions of the Lord Chamberlain or the Witan, and may issue any order to safeguard the Mercian constitution and its laws.
Every shire shall have an inviolable sanctuary (burch) where a sacred flame (foddik) shall be kept burning – e.g. at a stone circle or similar ancient monument, or at the shire’s highest point. Each sanctuary shall have 28 priestesses in permanent residence, with seven being on duty at all times – kneeling in worship, unencumbered, for six hours a day, in two shifts, or ‘watches’ (am and pm), and chanting: Wr-alda t-Anfang t-Bijin (‘The World, the Origin, the Beginning’).
Elder priestesses, having already proven their spiritual integrity, shall form the Mercian legal profession, becoming lawyers, magistrates and judges. After a year, any elder priestess may also be appointed High Priestess of a shire by the Folk Mother – and as such, may veto any decisions of its High Sheriff or shire moot. Elder priestesses shall wear simple, traditionally made garments in Bronze Age style, and like all members of the order shall be free to retire at any time.

Priestesses’ Daily Worship ▲


Folk Mother’s Inauguration
◄ Egtved Girl
The priestesses who worshipped at the stone circles of the Neolithic and Bronze Ages were part of a matriarchal civilisation described in the Frisian manuscript known as the Oera Linda Book, and were dedicated to the divine ancestress Frya, who issued her Tex, or Laws, at the time of the Great Flood of 2194 BC. The Vestal Virgins of Ancient Rome were a surviving offshoot.
The Egtved Girl was a Bronze Age priestess discovered near Egtved, Denmark, in 1921 – in the ancestral homelands of the Mercians. Laid to rest in a hollowed-out trunk coffin, she wore a short string skirt and bodice, in a style found in many other high status female burials from the period. Dendrochronology – tree-ring dating – pinpoints her death and internment to 1370 BC.


The following excerpt is part of a description of the sanctuary, or citadel, at Liudgârda (Leeuwarden, Netherlands), given by a High Priestess named Apollonia, daughter of Adela, in Chapter 40 of the Oera Linda Book:

In our citadel this is the arrangement: Seven young maidens attend to the lamp; each watch is three hours. In the rest of their time they do housework, learn, and sleep. When they have watched for seven years, they are free; then they may go among the people, to look after their morals and to give advice. When they have been three years maidens, they may sometimes accompany the older ones.
The writer must teach the girls to read, to write, and to reckon. The elders, or “Greva,” must teach them justice and duty, morals, botany, and medicine, history, traditions, and singing, besides all that may be necessary for them to give advice. The Burgtmaagd must teach them how to set to work when they go among the people. Before a Burgtmaagd can take office, she must travel through the country a whole year. Three grey-headed Burgtheeren and three old maidens must go with her.


(1) Bedfordshire: Dunstable Downs (highest point) ~ (2) Buckinghamshire: Beacon Hill (Iron Age round barrow) ~ (3) Cambridgeshire: Great Chishill (highest point) ~ (4) Cheshire: Alderley Edge (Bronze Age mine) ~ (5) Derbyshire: Nine Ladies (Bronze Age stone circle) ~ (6) Gloucestershire: Belas Knap (Neolithic chambered long barrow) ~ (7) Herefordshire: Black Mountain (highest point) ~ (8) Hertfordshire: Pavis Wood (highest point) ~ (9) Holland: Pinchbeck Marsh (highest point) ~ (10) Huntingdonshire: Boring Field (highest point) ~ (11) Isle of Ely: Haddenham (highest point) ~ (12) Kesteven: Folk Moot (Bronze Age round barrow) ~ (13) Leicestershire: Bardon Hill (highest point) ~ (14) Lindsey: Beacon Hill (Bronze Age round barrow) ~ (15) Northamptonshire: Arbury Hill (highest point) ~ (16) Nottinghamshire: Silverhill (highest point) ~ (17) Oxfordshire: Rollright Stones (Neolithic stone circle) ~ (18) Rutland: Cold Overton Park (highest point) ~ (19) Shropshire: Wrekin (Iron Age hill fort) ~ (20) Staffordshire: Barr Beacon (Iron Age hill fort) ~ (21) Warwickshire: Meon Hill (Iron Age hill fort) ~ (22) Worcestershire: Worcester Beacon (highest point) ~ (23) Birmingham: Moseley Bog (Bronze Age settlement)