Campaigning for a Sovereign & Pagan Mercia in the Midlands
Sovereign Mercia is part of the Frisian Alliance




The parliament of Mercia shall be known as the Witan, comprising 644 elders chosen by lot from among all Mercian citizens aged 25 and over – i.e. those who have reached the age of majority. Every year, on 21 December, four elders shall be selected from each shire, plus the City of Birmingham (to be classed as a shire in its own right). They shall begin their terms of office the following day, and shall serve on the Witan for seven years, so that one seventh of its membership is replaced annually. As with juries, service shall be compulsory, bringing great honour. The Witan shall hold its sessions in Birmingham at the present Town Hall, Victoria Square.
The Mercian head of government shall be the Lord Chamberlain (Lady Chamberlain, when female), elected for a one-year term by Mercian citizens aged 25 and over. His election shall be held on 21 December and he shall begin his term the following day. He shall not serve more than three consecutive years, though after an interval of seven years shall be re-eligible for election. He shall have full executive authority, with the power to veto any legislation passed by the Witan – though it may overturn his decisions with a two-thirds majority. His official chambers shall be the present Lord Mayor’s Parlour at the Council House, Birmingham.
As Mercia’s largest and most important city, located at the hub of its road, air, rail and canal networks, Birmingham shall be its capital. All meetings of the Witan shall be open to the public, and shall take place at the current Birmingham Town Hall (centre of picture). The Council House (right of picture) shall house the office of the Lord Chamberlain, the Mercian head of government, who shall likewise always be available to members of the public, as far as is practicable.

The Lord Chamberlain shall also act as High Sheriff of Birmingham, and preside over the city moot, which shall meet at the Council House and comprise the 28 elders chosen for the city. He shall be declared the legal successor to the former Mayors, and Lord Mayors, of Birmingham, and shall inherit their blue, white and gold ceremonial regalia – the traditional colours of Mercia. As commander-in-chief, he shall appoint, and may dismiss, High Sheriffs for the other 22 shires.

Town Hall & Council House

Shires & Cities ►
▲ Lord Chamberlain’s Robes
Tamworth Castle
The 28 elders of each shire shall form its shire moot, under its High Sheriff. Shires shall comprise wards responsible for local services, and every citizen may speak and vote at his ward moot, chaired by a warden. Wards in urban areas shall be grouped into cities, presided over by a mayor. Wardens, mayors and all other local officers shall be appointed by the High Sheriff.
In ancient times, when Birmingham was just a small village, the seat of the Mercian kings was located at Tamworth, Staffordshire. The current Norman castle is situated near the former royal fortress, and the Mercian flag is still flown from its battlements to this day. Tamworth Castle shall therefore be designated as the official country residence of the Lord Chamberlain.



(1) Bedfordshire ~ (2) Buckinghamshire ~ (3) Cambridgeshire ~ (4) Cheshire ~ (5) Derbyshire ~ (6) Gloucestershire ~ (7) Herefordshire ~ (8) Hertfordshire ~ (9) Holland ~ (10) Huntingdonshire ~ (11) Isle of Ely ~ (12) Kesteven ~ (13) Leicestershire ~ (14) Lindsey ~ (15) Northamptonshire ~ (16) Nottinghamshire ~ (17) Oxfordshire ~ (18) Rutland ~ (19) Shropshire ~ (20) Staffordshire ~ (21) Warwickshire ~ (22) Worcestershire
(23) Birmingham ~ (24) Bristol ~ (25) Burton-on-Trent ~ (26) Chester ~ (27) Coventry ~ (28) Derby ~ (29) Dudley ~ (30) Gloucester ~ (31) Grimsby ~ (32) Leicester ~ (33) Lincoln ~ (34) Luton ~ (35) Northampton ~ (36) Nottingham ~ (37) Oxford ~ (38) Solihull ~ (39) Stockport ~ (40) Stoke-on-Trent ~ (41) Wallasey & Birkenhead ~ (42) Walsall & Darlaston ~ (43) Warley & Smethwick ~ (44) West Bromwich ~ (45) Wolverhampton ~ (46) Worcester